Health  »  Yoga

Purify your Mind with Spiritual Practices of Yoga

By: Pooja   
Date Added : May 12, 2010 Views : 3054

The basic concept with this technique is Eight limbs can be kept free from diseases by Ashtanga Yoga method.  But it does not mean the person who practices it has two set of limbs.

The first four limbs to symbolize Ashtanga Yoga are

- Moral codes also called "yama"

- Self-purification also called "niyama"

- Posture also called "asana"

- Breath control also called "pranayama"

Limbs that symbolise internal practices are:

- Sense control also called  "pratyahara"

- Meditation also called  "dhyana"

- Concentration also called  "dharana"

- Contemplation also called  "samadhi"

Guruji Pattabhi states that practising these which contains niyama and yama is not possible.  But you can technically perform the methods well.  If your body is very weak to perform, and if the sense organs are not properly functioning, results will not be productive.

This is a primary theory that Guru K. Pattabhi Jois has applied, it is of great importance for the Asthanga practitioner to learn and understand the above way of thinking. This makes confident in that the body will significantly improve and become stronger and healthier.

Tristhana and Vinsaya are performed in Ashtanga Yoga.

The Vinsaya is a style and its fundamental principles in Ashtana Yoga is different from the others. Vinsaya means the movement and breathing which is used effectively together in order to cleanse the sareer which means body. Each movement done is accompanied by only one breath. Sweat is the most important part of Vinsaya. When you generate sweat, it indicates that you are successfully performing the method. While performing the Asanas, the body produces heat which causes blood to "boil" and excrete the toxins outside of your sareer. The contaminations are found in our sweat. So the more sweat we generate, the more toxins released. This is the natural way to get rid of unwanted impurities in our body.

These asanas are used to fully develop the physical strength and health of the body. It is the sequence of practices that make it possible. There are three postures used in Ashtaga Yoga are grouped on different levels:

- Primary Series is the first posture which aims on detoxifying  and also aligning the body.

- Intermediate Series is the second posture opening and cleansing the energy channels which is the process of purifying the Nervous System.

- Advanced Series from A to D is the last series. In this part, the strength and grace are assessed.

The Tristhana is a form of yoga principle which indicates the close union of the three places of action and attention. posture, breathing technique at last is the Dristhi of the Looking Place. All these three posturees must work altogether to perform a cycle.

The breathing is always synchronized along with the control of movements, in such a way that each movement is accompanied by the breath. Ujjayi  is the Yoga Breathing Technique applied in the implementation of Ashtanga Yoga. Applying this ancient technique is something that you should work on gradually in your daily practises.

What you need to master is holding your pose and breath longer at the same time. This is an amazing breathing exercise that will intensify and toughen your internal Nervous System.

Clearing your mind (an idle mans brain is the devils workshop) and cleansing it is the ultimate goal in the Eight-Limb Ashtana Yoga.

The Dristhi is defined as the point on which you acquire your focus or concentration while doing the Asana which is a series of Asthana or Tristhana. This allows your mind to be stabilized and purified clearly.

Click Here! to know more about "The Chakras of Tantric Yoga"

eXTReMe Tracker